Sunday, May 22, 2011

Sunday Quote


"How sweet the name of Jesus sounds in a believer's ear it soothes his sorrow, heals his wounds, and drives away his fears." ~John Newton~

Saturday, May 21, 2011

Strawberry Recipes and Crafts

Books

STRAWBERRY-LICIOUS DESSERTS (Strawberry Lover Dessert Collection) Cakes, Pies, Cream Puffs, Frozen Desserts, Cupcakes, Plus More!

Strawberry Recipes

Strawberry Ice Cream - http://bigmamashomekitchen.blogspot.com/2011/05/strawberry-ice-cream.html

Strawberry Hints and Tips - http://whatscookingamerica.net/StrawberryHints.htm

Strawberry Lemonade Cake - http://www.momsmenuplanning.com/2011/01/tempting-tuesday-strawberry-lemonade.html

Strawberry Pound Cake - http://www.bakerella.com/pound-cake-and-petit-fours/

Strawberry Cupcakes with Strawberry Butter Cream - http://www.delish.com/recipefinder/strawberry-cupcakes-buttercream-recipe

How to Make Strawberry Mice - http://familyfun.go.com/recipes/strawberry-mice-687541/

Strawberry Short Cake Cookies - http://www.best-ever-cookie-collection.com/strawberry-shortcake-cookies.html

Paula Deen Strawberry Shortcake Recipe - http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/paula-deen/strawberry-shortcake-recipe/index.html

Strawberry Tiramisu Trifle - http://www.tasteofhome.com/Recipes/Strawberry-Tiramisu-Trifle

Strawberry Sugar Biscuit Trifle - http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/strawberry-sugar-biscuit-trifle-10000000434925/

Dehydrate Strawberries - http://caitsplate.com/dehydrated-food-ideas/the-many-uses-of-dehydrated-strawberries/

Strawberry Printables

Strawberry Jam Printable Labels - http://printable.tipjunkie.com/strawberry-jam-label/

More Strawberry Jam Labels to Print - http://www.scribd.com/doc/33781742/Strawberry-Jam-Printable-Labels

Printable Recipe Cards with Strawberries - http://strawberriesareglutenfree.com/2008/04/printable-recipe-cards/

Strawberry Crafts

Strawberry Kitchen Pot Holders - http://www.craftideas.info/html/strawberry_potholder.html

Tutorial for Making Felt Strawberries - http://breadandbuttons.typepad.com/blog/2010/07/felt-strawberry-time.html

How to Make Strawberry Pin Cushions - http://www.marthastewart.com/273284/strawberry-pincushions

Strawberry Videos

How to Draw a Strawberry - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZEjb4Z7zT-w

How to Make Strawberry Jam - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fv_LrK7nqWc&feature=related

How to Freeze Strawberries - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zSDKKJXWt0o&feature=mfu_in_order&list=UL

9 Links for Using Leftover Bread and Bread Bags

Bread

Recipe Book - The Bread Bible: 300 Favorite Recipes

Bread Making Videos - http://www.breadtopia.com

How to Knead Bread Dough - http://breadbaking.about.com/od/beginnerbasics/ht/kneadhowto.htm

Homemade Bread Recipe - http://www.thesimpledollar.com/2007/11/04/homemade-bread-cheap-delicious-healthy-and-easier-than-you-think/

7 Ways to Use an Antique Bread Box - http://www.re-nest.com/re-nest/creative-reuse/six-six-new-ways-to-use-an-antique-bread-box-creative-reuse-120387

33 Ways to Re-Use Bread Bags - http://www.chasinggreen.org/article/33-ways-re-use-bread-bags/

4 Ways to Use Bread End Slices - http://vanessasvalues.blogspot.com/2011/03/saving-in-kitchen-four-ways-to-use.html

10 Ways to Use Leftover Bread - http://www.cookingmanager.com/ways-leftover-bread/
 
17 Uses for Stale Bread - http://www.wisebread.com/17-uses-for-stale-bread  

How to Freeze Bread - http://www.marthastewart.com/271861/good-thing-how-to-freeze-bread

Home Canning Links to Articles, Recipes and Videos

Home Canning Theme
Books:
  1. Ball Complete Book of Home Preserving  

Articles
  1. Canning Across America Can It Forward Day - http://www.canningacrossamerica.com/2011/05/17/announcing-national-can-it-forward-day/  
  2. Can Chili Beans - http://creativecanning.blogspot.com/2010/11/chili-beans.html  
  3. Concorde Grape Jelly - http://hipgirlshome.com/blog/2010/10/3/concord-grape-jelly.html  
  4. Canning 101 - http://tigressinajam.blogspot.com/2009/05/canning-101.html  
  5. Strawberry and Black Raspberry Jam - http://canningjarsetc.blogspot.com/2009/05/strawberry-and-black-raspberry-jam.html  
  6. Canning Safety - http://www.simplycanning.com/canning-safety.html
  7. List of Canning Recipes - http://www.simplycanning.com/home-canning-recipes.html  
  8. How to Make Corn Cob Jelly - http://canningjarsetc.blogspot.com/2009/10/corn-cob-jelly.html  
  9. Free Online Home Canning Course - http://www.uga.edu/nchfp/  
  10. USDA Complete Guide to Home Canning - http://www.uga.edu/nchfp/publications/publications_usda.html  
  11. Canning 101 Pickles, Fruits, Jams, Jellies - http://www.backwoodshome.com/articles/clay53.html  
  12. Canning Jars and Lids - http://www.doityourself.com/stry/jarsandlids  
  13. Canning Meat at Home - http://homesteadgardenandpantry.com/canning/home-canning-meat/  
  14. 50 Websites for Home Canning - http://www.culinaryartscollege.org/top-50-websites-for-learning-self-canning/  
  15. How to Can and Freeze Sweet Corn - http://americanhomecanning.com/?p=243  
  16. Freezing Vegetables - http://www.simplycanning.com/freezing-vegetables.html
Video Links
  1. How to Make Freezer Jam - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2SueFdX97mI&feature=share  
  2. Home Canning Basics Part 1 of 5 Part Series - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JeSQmYK8uE4&feature=share  

Monday, May 9, 2011

Rose Jars

Today we made rose jars that I had found on this great blog called The American Home it is full of great ideas from days gone by. She gives step by step directions. This is what we did:

My daughter and I picked roses from our bushes and removed the petals and put them on paper towels and let them dry for a couple days. Then we used a small jelly jar and put salt in the bottom and then rose petals and more salt and layered this way until we were out of petals. Put the lid on the jar and then removed it and the scent was great. We put the lid back on and will open it again tomorrow for another sniff of roses to scent our home.

These would make great gifts.